top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNat Devine

#21 Three Down, Six To Go.

Updated: Apr 6, 2023

Upon reflection this week I think I finally understand how parents feel when they have a baby. They are bloody excited to see their teeny tiny adorable baby grow, but also wish that time would slow the eff down, so they don’t blink and have a toddler and blink again and they, heaven forbid are behind the wheel of your car! This feeling resonates strongly with me this this term. I am wishing the days away, but also scared of how fast time is going. I am excited to start my new job, but also nervous. I want to hold on to what is comfortable for as long as I possibly can, before I enter the unknown…….


So, what did Week 3 of the fastest term on record look like?


It started off with two days of professional learning. Sometimes I like to think of PD sessions as “mini holidays”. Not only do you get a small break from the hectic life in the classroom, but you also get to hang out and converse with adults. This is a rare, but valued part of my life (for a short period of time only, for those who know me well!). I sometimes get so caught up in life at work that days go by before I have a proper conversation with someone over the age of 17. Don’t get me wrong, conversations with kids are hilarious, sometimes inappropriate and often occur at the wrong time, like when I’m trying to teach about the Protestant Reformation. “No, I haven’t actually met Martin Luther (I’m not THAT old) and I also don’t know what length nail he would have used to nail the 95 Theses to the church door (does it matter?! REALLY?!)”…..”No, now is not the appropriate time to tell me that it’s your grandma’s birthday party on the weekend….” Kids, they keep the days interesting, that's for sure!


It’s a sad time of the year for Year 12 teachers across the country, as we say goodbye to our senior students. Many of these students we’ve had for 5 years and have been a part of their high school journey. I always hate the very last lesson with them, because it’s sad to think their time in your class is over. You hope you’ve made an impact in their lives and you hope they’ve enjoyed your lessons. I always like to make sure my students know that I appreciate them, that I’ve loved having them in my class and that I will miss them. Every year I hope that I've succeeded in this.


This is what I’ve prepared so far for our last lesson together next week:


1. A chocolate card.

2. Cards. In the envelopes I wrote each of the students a card in Italian. The very last line says (in Italian of course) “If you’ve read this card and understood it then I think we were both successful in our learning and teaching journey together”.


3. Gifts. The gifts are Italian fairy tale books that I got from Italy a few years ago. Yes, they are conveniently wrapped up to represent the Italian flag.



Today is Bandana Day so that’s fun! A shout out to Canteen – an awesome charity who have touched so many lives. Here is me and my rainbow bandana. Brightened up my Friday.


Oh, and something exciting happened this week also. I booked a holiday to Singapore and Malaysia. I leave in 6 weeks and a few days (2 days after the term finishes!) I feel like that’ll be a fun way to celebrate closing one chapter in my book, and opening a new one. According to my countdown there aren’t many days to go!!! (see below)


I hope everyone had a great week and had time to stop and smell the flowers. I know that I will be trying to do that more next week!


My closest attempt this week at stopping to smell the flowers are these lovely red ones I walked past on Wednesday while out for a walk. These flowers reminded me of my beautiful late mother, and it was a very fitting day to stumble across them as it was my Mum’s birthday.


Only 25 more teaching days left for me + 4 days of activities + 1 day of staff break up + 1 day orientation at my new school, meeting my new class!!!!


Until next week xo


46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page