top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNat Devine

#19 A Change Is As Good As A Holiday

Updated: Apr 6, 2023

So, a change is as good as a holiday hey?! Whilst I agree wholeheartedly with this statement, I also really need a holiday. Like, really, really need one. I’m pleased to inform you that I have a holiday to Tasmania booked, in less than two weeks time…..AND…..drumroll please…..I also have a MASSIVE CHANGE occurring in my life next year and I’m on top of the world. Intrigued? You should be. I invite you to please read on and see what the new chapter of my life has in store......

For the past 8 years, I’ve driven in the same gate to work, parked in the same carpark (unless some ill-mannered person takes it, which probably has happened only 7 days out of 1500, so not too bad….I guess….) walked through the same front door, sat in the same desk and even drank out of the same black and white “No. 1 Teacher” coffee cup with a small chip at the top, which I've successfully avoided cutting my lip on for 8 years now. I've also been telling myself that I need to get a new mug, for 8 years now. My goodness, time gets away! Although each day is different as a teacher, there have never been any massive changes to my career. Small ones, sure. Big ones, nope. UNTIL NOW THAT IS! Please continue reading if you want to find out about a MASSIVE change in my life next year which I am very excited about, very proud of and a little anxious thinking about.


So, firstly, a little more about my upcoming holiday. I’ve got a trip to Tasmania booked in less than two weeks! Woohoo! There’s not a lot nicer than driving around the ever changing, stunning landscapes and rich history of Tasmania, while eating scallop pies and snowballs (chocolate covered marshmallows and not actually freezing cold ice) daily. This will be my fourth trip to Tasmania in the last few years and each time I am simply amazed by its beauty. I really wanted to go overseas these school holidays, but someone left it a bit late to renew their passport…..Oops. However, there may be overseas adventures looming for the Christmas holidays, just before the massive change that awaits me in 2020. Anyway, I’m not sure you’re that interested in my holiday. My massive change is coming right up, in approximately 20 words time…..and a photo........hang in there......

A photo from the lovely Maria Island, Tasmania.


Now onto the change occurring in my somewhat ordinary life. I won’t leave you hanging....here it is...... I GOT A NEW JOB! YES, that’s right….a new job! After being in my current school for 8 years, it was time for a change. The High School I work in currently was my first job out of university, and I’ll be forever thankful for all of the opportunities I have had and the wealth of experience I’ve gained. It was towards the end of last year where I considered a job change. The exciting part of this new job is that it is in a PRIMARY SCHOOL! I’m finally going back to having my own classroom and my own class all year. I studied primary school teaching at university and ended up in a high school, where I’ve stayed for longer than I could have ever imagined, because I loved it more than I could have ever imagined. But I am in need of new challenges and opportunities; I’m excited for new environments and a fresh start.


Do you know what the funny part of this blog post is?

I haven’t actually even had the job interview yet. So I don’t technically have the job yet. Please hang in there, it'll be worth it, I promise!


Today is Sunday 8th September, and my interview is scheduled for Tuesday 10th September, and then I imagine it will be a week or two until I find out if I was successful. If you’re reading this, then I am pleased to inform you that I have been successful! If you’re not reading this, well I guess you’re not reading this and you’ll never even know I applied for a new job and you’ll think that I want to be in my 9th year at the same school…….as I drive in that same gate and park in that same darn park. I feel confident; almost too confident if you’re judging confidence by the fact that I’m writing a blog about my new job, before I’ve even gotten the new job. I’m also googling things such as “Ideas for decorating Primary School Classrooms”. I feel that I am absolutely the right person for this job and this school, and I hope that I can articulate that successfully at my interview on Tuesday. Did I mention that I haven’t had any form of interview for 8 years?! I’m freaking out. I know that I'm a good teacher, but can I string a sentence together?! I really hope so.

My current google search. How fun.


Anyone who knows me well, knows that I’m quite resistant to change. I get comfortable in a situation and I don’t see a need to change it or am too anxious at the process of the change. Thankfully, hoping that my new school (too confident?) lets me know of my success before the school holidays in less than two weeks time, then I’ll have almost 5 months warning that I’m starting a new job. That is an ideal amount of time for me to adapt and psych myself up for my fresh start. Imagine all of the colourful room decorations and resources I can make in 5 months. Oh, the excitement!!

My current mindset.


Will I miss my current school? Of course. I have had many wonderful opportunities there and I have really grown as a teacher over the past 8 years. I was a timid 21 year old, fresh out of university when I embarked on my teaching journey at my first school and I’m leaving as a 29 year old (still timid) teacher with 8 years experience up my sleeve. My current school has challenged me significantly, put me in situations that have been beyond my comfort zone, but overall there have been some wonderful role models that have helped me become a better teacher and a better person. My current school is the reason I have a new job; so I am very grateful. They gave me a chance as a graduate teacher, they rewarded me for all that I did well, they encouraged me to do all I can including further study and overseas travel to better my skills and knowledge as a teacher. I feel like I am a great teacher, and I hope I can articulate that on Tuesday during my interview. Sometimes when I'm nervous I forget that English is actually my first language.

Here is a photo of the timid, 21 year old me on my first day as a teacher.


So here’s to my new job (that I’ll hopefully find out I have in less than 2 weeks!) and here is to my upcoming holiday to Tasmania, where I can eat extra scallop pies and drink extra cider, to celebrate the new chapter in my career book opening at the end of January 2020 (providing I get that phone call that I'm so desperately hoping for.....stay tuned!)

A change certainly is as good as a holiday, but what’s better is a CHANGE and a HOLIDAY, and I’m happy that within the next two weeks, I get both.


UPDATE 1:Today is Tuesday 10th September, and I’ve had my interview. It took place at 2:10pm in front of a panel of 3 Principals/Deputy Principals. I surprised myself and although I’ve spent 3 days full of nerves, once I walked into that interview room I was cool, calm and collected. I believe I sold myself well, and I’m feeling strangely confident. So confident that at the end when they said “Do you have any questions?” I wanted to say “Can you please show me to my new classroom, I know you loved me?!”, but thought I better not ;-) But seriously, if you’re reading this I’ve been successful and I’ve fulfilled my dream of having my own classroom next year. Here’s to new, exciting times. I can just see myself spending my Christmas holidays making colourful decorations, fun resources and getting excited about my NEW JOB. Wooooohoooooooo!!!


UPDATE 2:Today is Wednesday 11th September. Today at work I got called into my current school Principal’s office today. He said he was contacted as my referee….so that’s a good step. He also said he’d support me although he’d be sad to lose me, so that made me feel good. I’m still feeling way too confident, like I have the job! We’ll just have to wait and see. I really hope you’re reading this, because that means I’ve been successful. I guess I’ve wasted 1200 words writing this, for nobody to read, ever, if I’m not successful.


UPDATE 3:Today is Friday 13th September (even though it isn’t….it’s still Wednesday but I’m just THAT confident that I want to have this ready to go so I can post as soon as I hear the news……and he told me I'd know by Friday!), and I’ve gotten a phone call from the Principal of my NEW school. That’s correct. They offered me an ongoing position, as a primary school classroom teacher just as I hoped. Bring on 2020 where I get to fulfil my childhood dream of being a primary school teacher at a wonderful school!


FINAL UPDATE: Today is actually Thursday 12th September and I actually did find out I have the job....this is now in real time. The Principal called me at 5pm, and offered me an ongoing position, at his Primary School. To say I'm excited, in an understatement. I am bloody ecstatic.


Time to post this latest blog post that has been in the making since Sunday, and have a celebratory glass of wine! Tomorrow is Friday and I can enjoy a nice celebratory BOTTLE of WINE. Well deserved, even if I do say so myself. CHEERS!


Thanks for sticking around if you got this far, and joining me on my journey to getting my DREAM JOB! I can’t wait for my holiday, where I can relax and celebrate my latest success. I feel as though I deserve to pig out on scallop pies and indulge in local Tassie cider, to my hearts content.


The end of the era is near. Only 47 teaching days left at my current school. So many emotions right now; but excitement and pride are the strongest.


My blog next year is going to be fabulous. Primary school – can you imagine the colour and fun involved in that! Stay tuned!

200 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page