top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNat Devine

#5 Don't Forget to Breathe

A survival guide for the first week of school (for my own benefit) and a small insight into my personality, conveniently set out in lists (for no other reason than that I LOVE lists).


10 things you need to know about me (in no particular order. Although Point 10 is critical):

1. If I am in a staff meeting and the word “Icebreakers” comes up on the board, I’m out of there STAT. Like Speedy Gonzales, but even faster. I would give Usain Bolt a run for his money!

2. I do not voluntarily speak in front of a large group of colleagues (or people in general), unless it is a matter of life and death. Sometimes I have great ideas, that I want to share, but I physically cannot.

3. I do not like being the centre of attention. Ever.

4. Building on from point 3, Birthdays are an issue….unless they are on the weekend which has only happened ONCE in my 7 years teaching. So inconvenient, the way Earth orbits the sun and all that….what’s with that?!

5. I have a resting bitch face. Doesn’t mean I’m unhappy or displeased. I might be….but I guess you can never tell. I am a woman of mystery. Am I sad? Am I happy? Am I excited? Am I angry? It’ll keep you guessing. My other main facial expression is an awkward smile. If my resting bitch face isn’t on, then I’m smiling. One of my students once asked me: “Miss, why do you smile even when you’re angry?”.

6. Just because I don’t talk in group situations, doesn’t mean I’m not having fun….I just prefer to listen. I am a good listener.

7. I’ve done many AUSLAN courses. It’s a beautiful language, that I wish I could use with everyone when I don’t want to talk.

8. I hate talking on the phone. 95% of phone calls I get, I don’t answer. Emails and text messages are my preferred modes of communication.

9. I love reading. I love writing. I love language and languages. I love words. (Yes, I did used to read the dictionary in my youth. Remember as I previously stated, I was a very normal child…..I promise!)

10. My favourite things all start with C: Cycling, Cows, Coffee and Chocolate. How convenient. Alliteration makes me happy!


So here is a cute, cuddly, chocolate/coffee coloured cow (calf):


I am an introvert, and I’m a teacher. So I guess that makes me an introverted teacher.


Some additional traits to the ones mentioned above, that I exhibit are:

1. I enjoy nothing more than spending time alone.

2. I hate crowds (and when I say crowds, this can range from 3 to 100 000 people).

3. I am quiet.

4. I have a “do not speak until spoken to” rule around people I don’t know or am not comfortable with.

5. I am a good listener.

6. I dislike small talk.

7. I struggle with eye contact.

8. I am a very anxious person.

9. I overthink.

10. I hate being the centre of attention. I dislike attention in general.

11. Sometimes I hide out in my classroom every single break, to recharge and enjoy some solitude.

12. Some days I have a “staffroom free day” whereby I avoid adults at all costs. Usually it’s when I’ve run out of the energy needed to interact with adults.


So, if you are thinking right about now that I probably don’t have the correct personality to be a teacher, I do see where you are coming from. It’s a valid assumption. However, I promise you that I am a different person in the classroom. A person that a lot of people over the age of 18 don’t actually know. Children don’t seem to have the same effect on me as adults. Thank goodness, seeing as my job is kind of centred around interacting with children!


In the classroom:

1. I am loud

2. I am passionate

3. I am weird.

4. I sing.

5. I dance.

6. I dress up in costumes.

7. I do silly things.

8. I tell jokes.

9. I make my students laugh.

10. I am the centre of attention, and I love it!!


Unfortunately, with adults, it’s a different story. Don’t get me wrong, I have the ability to interact with adults. But this can be a very uncomfortable experience for me. I have some lovely close friends, but quite frankly, as a general rule, I need to enjoy your company more than I enjoy my own company, for friendships to blossom.


I love having fun, making people laugh, laughing and doing crazy things! But these personality traits are not the ones that first meet the eye. These come out when I trust you and you’ve made me feel comfortable. So thank you, to the people who tried that little bit harder, and had faith that there was more to me than first meets the eye. I love you all and I’m grateful that you understand me, and for your friendships. Now I am sorry if:

A. I never shut up!

B. I sometimes act a little too crazy!


Being an introvert has its benefits in the classroom. Some of these are:

1. I can recognise my introverted students.

2. I appreciate and understand my introverted students.

3. I never want my students to feel uncomfortable in my classroom.

4. I never want to force my students to do something that makes them want to run out of my classroom faster than Speedy Gonzales.


The first week or two of school is hard for most students, but in my personal opinion is a little harder for the introverts amongst them. They aren’t unlike me. They:

a. Want to make friends.

b. Want to fit in.

c. Wish they were more outgoing.

d. Get overwhelmed easily.

e. Don’t know how to speak up.

f. Wish that the thought of having to get up and introduce themselves in front of their new peers didn’t make them want to vomit (or actually vomit!).


I get them. I was them. I am them.


So, the reason I wanted to share a little insight into my personality, is as a gentle reminder that some students in every class will be extroverted and some will be introverted. A lot of extroverts don’t understand what it’s like to be an introvert, and vice versa. This doesn’t mean being shy and not wanting to participate in the lesson. It means we get our energy in different ways.


Introverts:

-are energised by silence and solitude.

-draw energy from writing-based and individual tasks.


Extroverts:

-are energised by noise and company of people.

-enjoy group-based learning and brainstorming.




As a teacher, it is imperative to honour these differences, and not try to “fix them”. They don't need to be "fixed", but rather "embraced". So, the challenge is, for teachers to cultivate engagement from their extroverted and introverted students. Don’t use the “one size fits all approach” in the classroom, and most importantly don’t make your students feel so uncomfortable they want to leave your classroom faster than I want to leave a staff meeting with Icebreakers (which may I remind you again, is ever so swiftly!!!).


10 Icebreakers/Getting to Know You Activites for the start of the school year that work well for extroverts and introverts.

(All worksheets available under the RESOURCES tab of my site).


1. Icebreaker Bingo.– This one is great and encourages one-on-one talk getting to know classmates. Students are given a bingo sheet with different categories such as “Has a name starting with P”, “Was born in July” etc. The students walk around the classroom asking their classmates questions to see which box of the Bingo card they can write their classmates name in.

2. M&M Getting to Know You Game– The teacher writes different categories on the board that correlate to the colours of the M&M’s. eg. Red = Family, Blue = Favourite Subject. Students are given a handful of M&M’s and before they can eat one, they have to share with the person next to them the answer to the questions on the board. They can swap partners throughout. Students who want to share with the whole class are given the chance.

3. Who Am I– This is a great little sheet that students fill in with different aspects of their lives including: previous school, family, achievements, favourite things, ways they learn best. I always collect them and read them to learn more about my students early on in the year.

4. Classmate name word-search.After about 2-3 lessons together, I make a word-search where all of the students in the class’s names are hidden. The students have to find their classmates names hidden in the word-search, and then find that student in the classroom and give them a wave. I use this website to create the word-search: http://puzzlemaker.discoveryeducation.com/WordSearchSetupForm.asp

5. Emoji Getting to Know Me-Students need to draw 8 emojis that summarise their lives. They write a short explanation about why they chose each emoji. Some students can choose to share with the class, and/or come up and write one of their emojis on the board.

6. Write a letter to your teacher– Students write a letter to their teacher introducing themselves and sharing anything they want their teacher to know about them.

7. Scattergories and/or Trivia– Students are put in small groups (3-4 students) and are in a team to play a simple game of Scattergories and/or Trivia. A good way for students to bond with their new classmates and work together to figure out the answers.

8. What do we have in common?- This activity encourages chit chat, with a purpose. Students are put in small groups (3-4 students) and they have 3 minutes to come up with something they all have in common (that is more deep than “we are all people” etc….). After the given time there is one spokesperson from each group who shares what the group found out with the class.

9. Poster Getting to Know You.- The teacher prewrites some questions either on the board (if space permits) or on poster paper. The questions could be things like “Something I’m scared of this year”, “Something I’m looking forward to in this class”….The students have to answer each question (either on a sticky note) or written directly onto the poster/board. They need to include their name.

10. Scavenger Hunt.– Send the students out around the school ground and/or classroom in a small group, with some small tasks. Usually I put the students in groups of 3-4, and each group has one Scavenger Hunt worksheet. Tasks can include things like: “How many steps/windows are there in _______ building”. Students work together on some very achievable tasks with their group members.


This is it! The next time I’ll be writing, will be after the arrival of the students. Finally. The Summer holidays are over and the start of term anxiety has set in. Something I’m going to work on this year is self-care. I’m guilty of neglecting myself, and this year I want to make myself a little more of a priority. I’d like to leave you with a list of self-care ideas:


1. Read a book. A good book. One that you choose to read for enjoyment (so not a textbook or an education document!).

2. Exercise daily. Even if it’s just a quick walk. Being active and enjoying some fresh air will do you wonders.

3. Take a nap, or sleep in on the weekends. It’s important to be well rested.

4. Stop and have a cup of tea or coffee, every day. You might not seem like you have 2 minutes to spare, but I promise you that you do.

5. Learn a new skill. Keep your brain active.

6. Sing and dance. Be happy.

7. Appreciate nature. Get some sunshine. Walk on the beach. Go to a park. Sit outside.

8. Be grateful. Tell people you appreciate them.

9. Make time for the things that make you happy to be alive.

10. Don’t be lazy and eat unhealthy food because it’s more convenient. Your body will thank you.


If all else fails, my life motto is: DON’T FORGET TO BREATHE.


Happy New Scholastic Year fellow teachers!


Until next time.....

88 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page